Thank You, Come Again

In case some of you haven’t heard, there’s a small indie film coming out at the end of the month called The Simpsons Movie.  I don’t know if it has much of a fan base or not.  But, who’s to say what America will like.

I kid of course.  Everyone has to know that the movie based on America’s longest running prime-time cartoon is coming out in a mere few weeks.  And in conjunction with Fox, 7-11 is turning into the Kwik-E-Mart for the month of July.  You’ll be able to find Squishees, Buzz Cola, and all your other favorites in the aisles of your local 7-11.  12 stores are actually being redone completely to look like the cartoon landmark.

I hadn’t realized the transformation was already underway until I stopped in at MY local 7-11 this weekend.  Checking out the Slurpees as I’m wont to do, I discovered I was instead looking at a brand-spankin’ new Squishee machine.  Most of the flavors were the same, save for the Blue Woo-Hoo Vanilla, featuring everyone’s favorite Homer.  The taste wasn’t really my thing, as it was a little TOO heavy on the artificial vanilla flavor for me.

Also changed was the beverage machine, now a Buzz Cola machine.  I was disappointed, because Buzz Cola isn’t actually on tap, at least not at my store.  That seemed like a no brainer to me, but what do I know.  Upon a return visit I noticed they also changed the donut and hot dog signs.  The donut display had a warning to make sure you knew that a twizzler was NOT a sprinkle, along with several other friendly reminders.

My best find though was the box of Frosted KrustyOs and a six-pack of Buzz Cola.  I shouldn’t be shocked that they look just like their cartoon counterparts, but it’s still a little cool to see something I’ve seen on screen for nearly 2 decades sitting there on the shelf.  Needless to say I bought both of them.

I haven’t tried the cola yet, but I’m quite fond of the KrustyOs.  They’re exactly like Fruit Loops, except less sweet.  They’re a great snack.  I actually prefer them as a snack to a cereal, to be honest.

I’ll report back when I get to the cola, but I have to say, this has been some of my favorite marketing for a movie in a long, long time.

This entry was posted in beverages, breakfast, impulse buy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

