Black Bean Burgers

blackbeans.jpgSorry I’ve been away for a bit, what with the writing and the blogging. The last couple of weeks have been at times hectic, stressful, and sad. Last Friday one of my coworkers passed away unexpectedly, and while I didn’t know her all that well, she was 3 years younger than me, which didn’t seem fair. Needless to say, my mindset has been completely shot.

Plus, I had some freelance work keeping me busy for a bit. But, now I have what some call “down time.” I wanted to write about some of the food I cooked up over the last two weeks.

I’ve been living off black bean burgers thanks to a recipe I discovered browsing the McDougall program forums. I’m a fan of the McDougall program as far as getting more whole grains, and less whole fat into my diet. It was a program that helped immensely when I moved away from the Interferon injections that normally come with a multiple sclerosis diagnosis, and towards a more healthy lifestyle in general.

The black bean burgers come from the Bush Beans website, with a little bit of recipe remixing courtesy of me. Being the garlic whore I am, I didn’t think that garlic salt was nearly enough garlic for one person, so I added 1 teaspoon of minced garlic and 3/4 cup corn to make it a little heartier of a meal. I think I still need to play with the seasoning a bit to get the flavor I’m looking for.

But when compared to buying a pack of 4 frozen Morningstar Farms black bean burgers, this cost a fraction of that for 6 burgers. You can get 2 cans of black beans for 75 cents, and a jar of salsa for 1.50. With everything else being things you probably have sitting around the house, this is a great freeze and reheat meal.

Black Bean Burgers

  • 2 cans (15 ounces each) Black Beans, rinsed and drained
  • ½ cup whole wheat or all-purpose flour
  • ¼ cup yellow cornmeal
  • ½ cup chunky salsa
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 3/4 cup frozen or canned corn
  • Hamburger buns

Place beans in food processor; process until fairly smooth. Add flour, cornmeal, salsa, cumin, garlic and garlic salt. Process until well combined. Fold in corn with a spoon or your hands. Spoon mixture into 6 balls on a large plate and refrigerate at least 1 hour or up to 4 hours before cooking.

Heat barbecue grill or stainless steel pan over medium heat. Coat grill or pan lightly with spray oil. Form each ball into a 4-inch patty about ½-inch thick. Place the patties on the grill or in pan and cook until browned and heated through, 4 to 5 minutes per side.

Serve on hamburger buns with your favorite toppings

This entry was posted in burgers, dinner, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

