Cranberry BBQ Pulled Pork

porkYes.  You read that right.  Pulled pork.  No, I have not taken leave of my senses.  I am still soundly a vegetarian, but I wanted to do something special for Katie. Her destruction of the Pig Destroyer at Kuma’s Corner will attest to the fact she loves the pulled pork.

She’s eaten a mostly vegetarian lifestyle since we moved in together, not because I’ve forced her in any way, but because she feels bad having me cook food that I can’t also enjoy.  I explained to her that I love the act of cooking more than anything else; and I love making food that people enjoy, meatless or otherwise.

My idea for making her pulled pork came from my coworker Kristin who shared the below recipe with me.  I, of course, had to switch things up a little bit, mostly by adding the bacon salt, grill seasoning, and creating a Frankenstein’s Monster’s mix of BBQ sauce.  The recipe below is halved from the original, but that’s because my crockpot is of the small variety.  It was also of the FREE variety (Thanks, Jen!) so there’s no complaining on my part.

There are a few things I can say I didn’t remember about preparing meat, mostly that the feeling of a knife cutting into cold flesh is kinda gross.  But aside from that, and remembering not to put my uncooked, pig germ infested fingers in my mouth, it was a pretty smooth experience.  I told her that maybe next time I’d even make her ribs.  Yeah.  She’s a fan of the ribs, too.

And if I can recommend it, make the pretzel bread recipe as mini rolls for a nice little slider experience.  The vegetarians in your family can eat the BBQ Tofu Ribs recipe (I’ll be posting later this week) while you dine on pig flesh.  Add some french fries, break out the beer, and have yourself a mini picnic!

Cranberry BBQ Pulled Pork

  • 2 pound pork shoulder roast
  • 1 tbsp grill seasoning
  • 1 large onions, sliced
  • 1/2 cup hickory & brown sugar flavor bbq sauce
  • 1/2 cup original flavor BBQ sauce
  • 1 Tbsp Pepper Bacon Salt
  • 1 cans (16oz) whole cranberry sauce
  • Sandwich buns

1. Sprinkle roast with grill seasonings.   Enough to coat the top.  Set aside

2. In slow cooker arrange onion slices, top with roast

3. In a medium bowl combine bbq sauce and cranberry sauce.  Pour over roast.

4. Cover and cook on Low setting for 8-10 hours

5. Transfer roast to a cutting board. Tent with aluminum foil until cool enough to handle.  Using tongs, transfer onions to a serving bowl. Pull or shred roast into bite size pieces.

6. Using a wire mesh strainer, strain cooking juices in a medium bowl.  Serve meat on sandwich rolls. Serve with onions and cooking juices.

This entry was posted in pork, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

