S’mores Cookies

My friend sent me this recipe asking if I’ve ever tried something like it before. I hadn’t, but that didn’t stop me from going right out for the supplies and making them this morning. I did tart them up a bit, because the photo she sent me of the original cookies looked a little like a dog had one too many the night before.

This updated version relies on the same type of set up I used for the Hot Chocolate Cookies I made a month or so ago. I made the cookie according to the recipe, but instead of mashing a crapload of stuff on top, I used only one marshmallow and a piece of Hershey’s chocolate. I think the finished project looks WAY better.

These have also met with my co-worker seal of approval. Out of three dozen cookies, I have 2 left.

S’Mores Cookies
3/4 cup butter — softened
1/2 cup white sugar
1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
1/4 cup packed dark brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup graham cracker crumbs
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips or chocolate chunks
18 Large marshmallows
3 Hershey Bars

Beat together margarine and sugars until light and fluffy. Blend in egg and vanilla. Add combined flour, graham cracker crumbs, baking soda and salt. Mix well. Stir in chocolate chips.

Drop dough by tablespoonfuls onto greased cookie sheets about 3 inches apart.

Bake in pre-heated oven 375 degrees for 8 minutes. While the cookies are baking, cut the marshmallows in half. Remove and quickly press marshmallows into cookies. Return to oven and cook until done (1-2 minutes).

Once cookies have cooled a bit, place a piece of Hershey’s chocolate firmly into the middle of the marshmallow and let cool completely before serving.

Makes about 3 dozen

Of course, if you’re super OCD like I am about presentation, I also used a cookie cutter to trim the cookies into perfect circles. I know I’m insane. Stop reminding me voices.

This entry was posted in baking, chocolate, cookies, dessert, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to S’mores Cookies

  1. Kristin says:

    I love cookie Tuesday! These were by far the best yet! Thank you!

Leave a comment